Game. Of. Friggin’. Thrones: Jillian takes the watch

I have been wanting to blog about this topic for a while now. Honestly, I have been kind of lazy and not wanting to do actual work. Writing, above all else, does not come easy. When I write for school, it always seems to sound like some really bored librarian who has lost interest in their job. Or that lady from Monsters Inc…. for the life of me I cannot remember her name. You know, the one who always asked Mike for his paperwork? Yeah, that one. i definitely try to sound like I’m talking to you guys, since you guys come to my blog because of my personality.

Anyways, back on subject. Game. Of. Friggin’. Thrones!

I started the series back in my second year of college. I’ve been out of college for a year, so basically it’s been three years. My roommate … or apartment mate… Sarah, introduced me to the series. I borrowed her copy, but would soon find out that the book would take me some time to finish. So I bought my own copy and have since bought the entire series. Let me just say that I refused to watch the show until I read the first book. I took about six months to finish the first book.  By then I really wanted to call it quits, but I just had to continue. I’m such a wuss sometimes.

It would basically go like this. I would read the book, then watch the TV show. By the time I finished each book, the past season would be in a box set. I have so far gotten to the fifth book, “A Dance With Dragons” and I’m only half way through the book. Honestly, I don’t really spend that much time reading it. I spend a ton of time dreading picking it up.

i dread picking it up because it is so dense. I feel accomplished even reading twenty pages in one sitting. I mean, to some people (non-readers) that might not seem so bad. But when I normally can breeze through a book in two days or less, that is saying something.

There are so many things that are different in comparisons between the book and TV show. I will say this now. This post may contain spoilers…. so if you hate those, then you might not want to read on.

– Tyrion was supposed to lose his nose!!!!! (seriously, why did they cut this?!)
– Rob’s wife (her name was Jeyne in the books) was not supposed to die in the Red Wedding. Her mother made a deal with Tywin to get her out of that one.
– Jamie was not supposed to be there at the wedding.
– Danaerys was so much more annoying in the books… just saying.
– I loved Jamie better in the books.

These things were what really aggravated me about the show. There were other things that were not correct in the TV show, but I will not say those ones because they weren’t as aggravating as the ones above. Overall, the series is a pain in my ass. I have yet to watch the fifth season, solely because I have yet to finish the fifth book. I know the fifth season goes past the fifth book, so I don’t know if I want to finish the TV show. I mean, I love to picture what is happening first, before it is corrupted by the images in the TV show. I am a book purist.

I will definitely sit there and criticize what is going on in the TV show. The books are so hard to read, sometimes information slips through the crack.  I do prefer the book over the show, only because of the character developments. I do tend to throw my books across the room whenever I get really pissed off at the story. If I ever meet George R. R. Martin, I would love to slap him in the face. Although I probably won’t have the guts.

Can we just admit that Tyrion is such a badass in this scene? I seriously root for him the whole time. I think what intrigues me the most about Game of Thrones is that the characters aren’t just black and white. There is no good or bad. They all have qualities that you hate and ones that you love. Like Eddard Stark. I loved him, but he also had some bad stuff about him. He wasn’t just the good guy. No one in this series is a good guy. Sometimes I think at this point George R. R. Martin is just recycling all of his ideas. Anyways, that is beside the point.

I love Jamie Lannister in the books because he grows into someone I love. I mean, sure, he pushed Bran off the window, raped his sister, and killed the king. But he feels bad about those things. He is a flawed character that I just want to hug. They don’t give him justice in the show. Everyone who just watches the show thinks I’m weird for liking Jamie. Also Tyrion was more amazing in the books… not that he’s not awesome in the show. He’s just more… awesome-er?

I just wanted to put this here because don’t they look alike? The left one is Joey Armstrong, from Swimmers.

So overall, the series is quite annoying. But I still follow it. And screw everyone who spoiled the fifth season for me. I wuuuuv Jon Snow… just saying. Although at one point (the fourth book) I wanted to strangle him myself. If you read the fourth book, you’ll know why.

One thought on “Game. Of. Friggin’. Thrones: Jillian takes the watch

Leave a Reply

