Finding a boyfriend: personality and obsessions

So it’s the new year. Usually, I’d be inspired to write a “year in review” post, but I’m not going to do that. Instead, I’m going to tell you something that I’ve been thinking about the past few days. I’ve watched a ton of romantic movies and books. While watching Ella Enchanted the other day with my mom, I said, “I want someone like him [Prince Charmont]” My mom goes, “Well if you change your personality and stop being so obsessive you’ll find more guys.” You know what is wrong with that statement? It’s total BS. I’m 24 years old. My personality is basically settled by now. If I were to change right now, I’m sure I wouldn’t be me.

No, if you’re going to find someone, it’s going to be because of your award winning personality. Hearing that made me think about my personality. I’ve been told by several of my friends that my personality makes people come to me. I’m bubbly and nice to talk to. Sure, when I was younger, these attributes weren’t easy for me. But then I started getting out of my shell and building my personality. So somehow my personality is off putting to some guys? If that’s the case, then I wouldn’t want to be with them anyways. I need someone who can get my quirky personality and knows that I am a little over the top.

As for obsessive, what’s the harm? Someone who is obsessed with something has probably a lot more passion than someone who isn’t obsessed over something. I deeply love Green Day and Doctor Who. in fact, my love for Doctor Who allowed me to go across the pond and find a dozen more friends and experiences. If a guy doesn’t understand that you will get just as pumped for Doctor Who as you are towards sex, than you should probably dump him. And it doesn’t have to be just Doctor Who, although it is an amazing show. If you’re obsessed with something and your date or boyfriend isn’t as thrilled that you’re thrilled, then he is not worth it.

This year, go find someone who is passionate, outgoing, and maybe a little crazy. Normal people scare me.

One thought on “Finding a boyfriend: personality and obsessions

Leave a Reply

